The Power of Profanity


The Power of Profanity

It diminishes the creative power of mind and tongue.

It substitutes brassy speech for genuine boldness.

It sacrifices character on the altar of acceptance of healthy interaction.

It begets an atmosphere of hostility or adversity.

It depends on shock or crudity to establish authority or create humor.

It cheapens or desecrates life’s most precious relationships.

It acclimates the mind to the world-spirit.

It instills a reticence to speak righteously.

It erodes sensitivity toward ultimate eternal issues.

Pastor  Jack W. Hayford

Copyright 1983 Living Way Ministries

8 thoughts on “The Power of Profanity

      • LOL…She is so smart she waits until we are out in the yard and then mimmicks our phone perfectly so now when we go out to the yard we carry the phone because we got tired of walking back in for a fake ring. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • They are truly smart birds! But they also can bite pretty good too! Even for a mid-sized bird! My sister had one, but only she could handle it! I tried to handle one at the pet store and it was happy on my hand and the decided to bite my finger! It actually drew blood! I love birds. Yours sounds like a hoot! (No pun intended!)

          Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! To be completely honest, I have to keep that in front of me so that I am reminded to watch my tongue. The Bible is so true that the tongue is so small and yet so difficult to control! And as much as I despise profanity, I have found times that those words come out of my own mouth. And the moment they do, you realize that you cannot take them back. Instantly the Holy Spirit convicts me of my wrongdoing and then, true to His nature, He comforts me and reminds me that tomorrow will be a brand new day and that I am forgiven. I know that its an old article but I felt it was worth posting!

      Thanks for the comment! Love the encouragement! (Need it oh so much!)

      Blessings,
      Rhonda aka nanarhonda
      Founder ~ LIKE PRECIOUS FAITH Ministries
      likepreciousfaith.info

      (It’s also posted there as well!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

