Food for Thought about Global Warming…


Ok, while I don’t pretend to have all the answers and I’m sure its possible that I’ll step on some toes, I’m going to just throw out a thought or two on the topic of ‘global warming’ … please bear with me and if you don’t agree, please bear with grace! Thanks, in advance!
Well, I have not jumped on the ‘go green’ bandwagon. Not because I’m against reducing, reusing, and recycling… because I’m all for being good stewards of His creation. I’ve not jumped on the ‘go green’ bandwagon because I don’t believe all the ‘global warming’ propaganda/hype (sorry if those words offend… I don’t mean them to be offensive, I’m just not sure what words to use if I don’t ascribe to it).Ever since the first time I heard the term ‘global warming’ and the subsequent warnings that the earth is getting hotter, the polar caps are melting, and WE MUST DO SOMETHNG TO STOP IT NOW (while we still have the chance!) I had a scripture “pop up in my spirit” and I haven’t been able to get past it.  Then last week, during the midweek service at church, a comment was made that really struck me and I looked up that scripture that “pops up in my spirit” and was even more awestruck at the verse!  Let me share the comment… or, more accurately put, my paraphrase of the comment…

“For someone to think that ‘we’ (mere humans) have the power to destroy something that God created – or worse yet – think ‘we’ (mere humans) have the power to stop ‘global warming’ if it were true – is awfully arrogant!”

I was struck by the truth of the comment… mankind has always had a weakness in that area, hasn’t it? Thinking back to the Tower of Babel, or how about Abraham and Sarah and Hagar, or the Israelites wanting a human king, or the disciples wanting to overthrow the current authority and put Jesus in charge? (Or trying to usher in the Second Coming by moving Jews from all over the world back to Israel? But that’s another topic… we won’t “go there” today!)

So here we are in present day ‘Bible times’ and mankind thinks it can ‘fix’ the problem of global warming or that mankind can actually destroy the Creation that God spoke into existence!  Wow… it just seems to me that present-day mankind is thinking more highly of themselves than they ought!

Oh, and what was the scripture that keeps “popping up in my spirit”?

“While the earth remains,
seedtime and harvest
cold and heat
winter and summer
and day and night
shall not cease.” Genesis 8:22 NKJV

What I was even more awestruck by was reading the verses just before this one, I found that not only were these God’s words, but He spoke them to Noah AFTER Noah came off the Ark and built an altar and offered burnt offerings to the Lord… and the Lord promised him that He would never again curse the ground or destroy every living thing! And the very next words recorded are “while the earth remains, seedtime and harvest, COLD AND HEAT, WINTER AND SUMMER, and day and night SHALL NOT CEASE!”

I hope that this offers you some food for thought today!

5 thoughts on “Food for Thought about Global Warming…

  1. I wrote a reply then deleted it by mistake……It was pretty lengthy….one of my best responses. I don’t know if I can be so articulate again.
    Basically what I said was; I believe the earth runs in cycles, always has. From what I think I know there were glaciers and possibly earth quakes that formed the Grand Canyons. The ice didn’t melt without heat. I believe the cycles are part of God’s process of developing the earth, kind of like a painting that is never finished, until the artist says he is finished. I agree with you Rhonda, I don’t believe God created our world, to allow it to be destroyed by us. When he has had enough, he will turn it the way he wants….
    However, we have abused, polluted and disrespected our gift. I believe all diseases have cures, cures that come from the earth itself. God placed before us the answers……but we are too busy destroying one another to find them. Those closest to the earth, our Native Americans knew and understood….it was not the destruction of their lives that tore them down, it was man’s abuse of the earth they worshiped, knowing their creator could not be pleased.
    Your friend always,
    Arlin

    Liked by 1 person

    • Arlin, I understand exactly what you mean. For example, my daughter keeps her family healthy by what she feeds them and when they are sick, she uses the things that God gave us from the earth. When she used to live on their hobby farm, the kids would get stung by bees/wasps and she would pull up the items that we call weeds, and she would chew them up a bit and then apply it to the sting area. Moments later, the bump from the sting was gone, and the stinger was out. She has read extensively on how to treat her family should they get sick. They all know how do swallow a smashed garlic clove in a tablespoon of honey. The garlic has natural antibiotics in it! For her and her husband, they add cayenne to it as that will help with draining the sinuses and help else as well.

      My whole point is that mankind is so arrogant to think that they can destroy or save something that Almighty God has spoken into existence.

      When I read that scripture, it was so encouraging, but then when I read that it was being told to Noah, by God, AFTER the flood, when he left the ark for the first time and he built an altar to God, and burnt an offering (which was quite common and a way to say Thank You Lord).

      To find out that God was tell Noah this after the flood, when He was promising Noah that He would never again curse the ground, or destroy all mankind and He put a Rainbow in the sky as a reminder of that promise. And then he said the scripture that I quoted!

      I know that mankind had abused polluted and disrespected our gift. And I agree that some of the diseases are likely a result of the way people have taken care of the Earth. But you cannot only look at Americans. We are not the only ones involved in the care of the Earth. The whole Global Warming thing was to raise money from other countries. What has been done with this money? How has it benefited the Earth? See, it was just a way to collect money. And not POTUS is shaming other countries for not participating in this ‘great cause” when some of these countries are trying to simply feed their people.

      Thank you so much for your response, Arlin, As always, I truly appreciate it. We do agree more than we don’t!

      Your friend always,
      Rhonda

      Like

  2. Girl, you hit the nail on the head! I have been chirping those words myself. Who the heck do we think we are tho believe we could have an affect on what God has created?? This earth has gone through global changes before, so why would this one somehow be different? The fact is, the earth, in all her glory and spender, could shake us all off of her if she had the mind too…like fleas on a dog! This is God’s creation and He will do with her what He may…. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

